After the successful implementation of the LA21 pilot phase, the project expanded to 13 further locations, in which the local authorities agreed to draft their Local Action Plans for Sustainable Development, namely Falticeni, Vatra Dornei, Arad, Sighisoara, Medias, Sibiu, Campina, Targu Jiu, Targoviste, Pitesti, Slatina, Bolintin Vale, and Zimnicea.

The second phase of the project also brought several innovative elements to the process, such as the new approach of diversifying the project area through the inclusion of smaller localities such as Zimnicea and Bolintin Vale.